Run Ranger FAQ

  1. Why is it called “Run Ranger?”
    1. I grew up in a region of northern Minnesota known for providing iron ore to the US and the rest of the world. Those of us who lived on “the Iron Range” were known as Iron Rangers or, more familiarly and phonetically, Rayn-Cherz. My running buddies and I spent a lot of time exploring abandoned ore mines during track and cross country workouts, and a lot of our long runs took us though an unreal landscape of narrow avenues of natural beauty between unimaginably huge open-pit mines, some new, some long dead and filled with water. Some of my best running memories are the result of mileage in that strange, meditative wasteland. I’ve always identified myself as both a runner and a ranger, so I put them together to name the app.
  2. Where’s the GPS tracking?
    1. With apologies to Obiwan, this is not the app you’re looking for. There are a dozen or more apps trying to be your GPS run tracker. Good for them. Run Ranger’s not that app. For many reasons – chief among them the superiority of Garmin wrist-top GPS sports watches – I am not interested in using my phone to log workouts. I developed Run Ranger to fill a void in the Windows Phone market.

      When I got my first Windows Phone, there was no pace calculator. Two years later, when I got my second, there were a couple of workable, but horribly ugly pace calculators. They also lack the simple features I wanted in a pace calculator, including quick calculation of predicted times for other distances and, most importantly, proper training pace ranges. By filling these needs and trying to adhere to good Metro Windows design, I’m confident that Run Ranger is the best pace calculator on Windows Phone, and maybe the best on any platform.

  3. How do I track my workout?
    1. I think you skipped question number two.
  4. How are the prediction and workout times and paces calculated?
    1. The math isn’t too complex. It’s based on well-known algorithms developed by running coaches over the past few decades. Predicted Time = Known Time * (Prediction Distance / Known Distance ^ (1+Magic Constant). Different coaches uses different values for that constant. The default I use falls into the middle of the spectrum and presumes less of a slowdown at longer distances. Or, as I see it, it presumes less of a speedup from longer distances to shorter ones. I find it consistent with the results of fairly well-trained adult recreational racers. In a future version of Run Ranger, power users will have the ability to tweak this setting, biasing it toward their own strengths (speed versus endurance) and get finer-tuned results.

      The training paces for various workout types are derived from the same information, based on the published work of many running coaches. In some cases, I’ve averaged their preferred workout paces (as based on an individual’s fitness estimated by that recent best effort. In other cases, I’ve chosen what I believe to be the best approach from the best.

  5. Your translations suck!
    1. That’s not really a question, but thanks all the same. I have done my best to localize the app into the languages I’ve studied over the years, but review that point about where I grew up and you’ll guess that rural Minnesota put me a bit behind the curve on multilingualism. Translating apps is difficult enough, and localized running jargon is even tougher for a non-native speaker to learn. That’s my way of saying, “Thanks for your patience. If you find a translation that can be improved, please leave a comment here.” You should feel welcome to report bugs, crashes, or suggest any improvement on that page.
Leave a Reply

